View Current

Credit Transfer and Recognition Policy

This is not a current document. To view the current version, click the link in the document's navigation bar.

Section 1 - Preamble

(1) This Policy was approved by Academic Board on 20 November 2012 and includes amendments to 15 January 2016. (On 19 July 2016, Academic Board approved a revised and renamed policy to come into effect Trimester 1, 2017. This can be viewed under the 'Future Version' tab above.)

(2) This Policy is pursuant to Statute 5.2 Academic Awards and Regulation 5.2(2) Higher Education Award Courses - General.

Top of Page

Section 2 - Purpose

(3) This policy governs credit transfer and recognition arrangements.

(4) The Credit Transfer and Recognition Procedure documents how to comply with this policy.

Top of Page

Section 3 - Scope

(5) This applies to Higher Education courses offered by the University.

Top of Page

Section 4 - Policy

(6) The University provides for course credit recognition arrangements that are consistent with the Higher Education Standards Framework and maintain the integrity of the course of study and qualification.

(7) Specified or unspecified credit, including block credit, may be granted towards a course where a student can demonstrate that they have achieved the learning outcomes of a component of a course, including the skills or knowledge, or application of the skills or knowledge, equivalent to a component of a course.

(8) Unspecified credit cannot be granted towards compulsory components of a course.

(9) Credit granted towards a course must meet the following requirements:

  1. Students must complete a minimum of one-third of their studies in their current course, or four credit points, whichever is the greater, at Deakin. For graduate certificates, a minimum of two Deakin credit points must be completed.
  2. Credit is not granted:
    1. provisionally, i.e. on the basis that a student must meet additional requirements
    2. for which credit has been granted towards a Deakin course and the award has been received
    3. for formal learning assessed as a 'fail', 'pass conceded' or equivalent grade
    4. for formal learning undertaken while the student is excluded from a course at Deakin, except where such formal learning is undertaken with the prior approval of the relevant Faculty Pro Vice-Chancellor or nominee
    5. for prior learning acquired more than 10 years before the application for credit. However, with the approval of Academic Board, Faculties may impose a shorter time limit for some courses to ensure currency of knowledge and skills appropriate to the discipline.
  3. Where a preclusion is approved, a student will be required to replace the precluded unit(s) with an equivalent number of credit points (units) from specified elective units.

Credit arrangements for combined or dual courses

(10) Approved combined or dual courses may have reciprocal credit arrangements whereby learning achieved in one course is recognised for the purpose of assigning specified or unspecified credit in the other. Reciprocal credit may be granted for a maximum of one third of each Deakin course, and two- thirds of each Deakin course must be unique to that course. For dual courses, exceptions to this requirement may be approved by the Academic Board. The integrity of Deakin courses must be maintained in such arrangements.


(11) The Academic Board is responsible for setting the requirements for course credit transfer and recognition arrangements.

(12) Faculties (or the Pro Vice-Chancellor Research Training and Performance Enhancement in the case of research Institutes) are responsible for:

  1. making reciprocal credit arrangements with other institutions to establish credit to be granted for courses offered by the Faculty
  2. approving credit towards courses in accordance with the principles specified in this policy and the processes specified in the Credit Transfer and Recognition Procedure, and
  3. maintaining records of reciprocal credit arrangements.

(13) The Deputy Vice-Chancellor Global Engagement is responsible for managing articulation pathways and reporting annually to the Academic Board on articulation pathways in accordance with the requirements of the Academic Partnerships Procedure.

Top of Page

Section 5 - Procedure

(14) Refer to the Credit Transfer and Recognition Procedure.

Top of Page

Section 6 - Definitions

(15) For the purpose of this Policy:

  1. Combined course: approved combination of courses of the University that leads to the conferral of two awards in accordance with Regulation 5.2(2) Higher Education Courses - General.
  2. Credit
    1. Specified Credit: credit granted towards particular or specific components of a course.
    2. Unspecified Credit: credit granted towards elective components of a course.
    3. Block credit: credit granted towards whole stages or components of a course, such as a trimesters or a year of full-time study in that course, rather than for specific units. It is usually only applicable under formal articulation agreements that Deakin University has with other education providers.
  3. Credit Point: as defined in Regulation 5.2(2) Higher Education Award Courses - General.
  4. Credit Transfer
    1. Credit for Prior Learning (CPL): credit granted for relevant prior learning (including formal, informal and non-formal learning).
    2. Credit for Concurrent Formal Learning: credit granted for relevant concurrent learning (approved in advance by a Faculty) which, on successful completion, will be credited towards an award of the University.
  5. Dual course: approved combination of courses developed collaboratively with a partner institution that leads to the conferral of two awards in accordance with Regulation 5.2(2) Higher Education Award Courses - General.
  6. Learning
    1. Formal Learning: learning that takes place through a structured program of learning that leads to the full or partial achievement of an officially accredited qualification.
    2. Informal Learning: learning gained through work or life experiences.
    3. Non-formal Learning: learning that takes place through a structured program of learning but does not lead to an officially accredited qualification.
  7. Preclusion: substitution of a core unit in a course by another approved unit where a student has already completed the requirements for the exempted unit elsewhere.