View Current

Academic Awards procedure

This is the current version of this document. To view historic versions, click the link in the document's navigation bar.

Section 1 - Preamble

(1) This Procedure is effective from 27 June 2019.

Top of Page

Section 2 - Purpose

(2) This Procedure provides information on the University's academic awards titles, conferral, testamurs and colours.

Top of Page

Section 3 - Scope

(3) This Procedure applies to higher education awards conferred by the University.

Top of Page

Section 4 - Policy

(4) This Procedure is pursuant to Higher Education Courses policy.

Top of Page

Section 5 - Procedure

(5) The higher education awards that may be conferred by the University are listed in Schedule 1: Academic Awards of Regulation 5.2 (2) - Higher Education Award Courses - General and are consistent with the Higher Education Qualifications listed in the Higher Education Standards Framework.

(6) Award titles unambiguously identify the qualification type, level and broad or narrow field of study in accordance with the Australian Qualifications Framework Qualifications Issuance Policy and any naming conventions of the University. Award titles for combined courses consist of the approved title for each course. The first component of the title is the course offered by the Faculty that has sponsored the combined course. Where both courses are delivered by one Faculty, the title is in alphabetical order.

(7) For postgraduate nested courses only, a student may elect to graduate at any level of the nested award subject to normal course completion eligibility and is not precluded from continuing to, and graduating from the higher nested award.

(8) Students who satisfy the requirements of a Bachelor Degree (that does not include honours) will be awarded the Bachelor Degree with distinction where they:

  1. achieve or exceed a weighted average mark (WAM) of 70% across their course, and
  2. complete a minimum of eight credit points or one third of their course at Deakin (whichever is greater).
Combined courses are treated as separate courses for this purpose.

Testamurs and Australian Higher Education Graduation Statements

(9) Graduates are issued with authorised documentation including testamurs and Australian Higher Education Graduation Statements that conform to the requirements of the Higher Education Standards Framework.

(10) Testamurs state:

  1. the full title of the award
  2. any subsidiary component of the award (including an integrated honours, area of specialisation or major)
  3. if any parts of the course or assessment leading to the award were conducted in a language other than English (except for the use of another language to develop proficiency in that language).

(11) The testamur issued on completion of a joint course indicates that the degree was undertaken as a joint course in accordance with Regulation 5.2 (2) - Higher Education Award Courses — General.

(12) A Bachelor Degree awarded with distinction in accordance with clause 9 includes the designation 'with distinction' on the testamur.

(13) Australian Higher Education Graduation Statements:

  1. conform to the Guidelines for the Presentation of the Australian Higher Education Graduation Statement
  2. include achievements of students that are additional to the completion of course requirements, including the award of Deakin Hallmarks (under the Deakin Micro-credentials policy) and University prizes and medals established by the Vice-Chancellor.


(14) Award colours are in accordance with the broad areas of study:

Area of study Colour
Architecture Oyster Grey
Arts Cherry Red
Commerce Buttercup
Education Emerald
Engineering Orange
Health Sciences Glacier Blue
Information Technology Wisteria
Law Garnet
Medicine Ivory
Nursing Peacock Green
Science Spectrum Blue
Social Work Spectrum Violet

(15) The introduction of a new award colour is approved by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor Education, in consultation with the Academic Registrar, on the recommendation of the Academic Board.

Top of Page

Section 6 - Definitions

(16) For the purpose of this Procedure:

  1. field of study: an area of learning that is the main focus of a course leading to the conferral of a higher education award.
  2. joint course: a course offered by Deakin with one or more higher education providers in Australia or overseas, leading to the conferral of a single award in accordance with Regulation 5.2 (2) Higher Education Award Courses - General.
  3. nested course: a course that is a complete subset of another higher level course.